Prize-winning Chapbooks from Wind Publications
The Quentin R. Howard Poetry Prize, awarded by 
Wind Publications to the winner of an international chapbook competition 

Wind Publications

Book List

Author Snapshots
Order Form

or snail-mail

Wind Publications
600 Overbrook Dr
Nicholasville, KY 40356

  1999-2000 Margaret Hoehn --
Changing Shapes by Margaret Hoehn was awarded Wind's annual poetry chapbook prize. Mrs. Hoehn lives with her husband and children in Sacramento, California, where she practiced law for (she says "many") years. She is presently devoting her time to raising her two children and doing volunteer work for a hospice program and a medical library. Among the many places her poetry has appeared are Writer's Journal, Peregrine, Connecticut Poetry Review, Lullwater Review, Inkwell, Sheila-Na-Gig, and Patterson Literary Review. Her chapbook, Vanishings, was the 1998 winner of the Hibiscus Award.  More about Changing Shapes.

Changing Shapes is available from Wind for $6.95 including postage and handling. Order this book.

1998-1999 Angelo Verga --
The prize for a chapbook was awarded to Angelo Verga of New York City.  His chapbook, The Six O'Clock News, will be published in the autumn of 1999. 

Mr. Verga was born in and lives in the Bronx.  He graduated from Iona College in 1967.  He has been employed by the US Postal Service for 28 years, the last eight as a collector of statistical data.  He hosts "The Cornelia Street Cafe Sunday Reading Series," currently in its fourth season.  His chapbook, Across the Street from Lincoln Hospital, was published in 1995 by the New School Chapbook Society.

The Six O'clock News is available from Wind for $5.00 including postage. Order this book.

Ann Ohman Youngs Photo
1997-1998 Anne Ohman Youngs was awarded the Quentin R. Howard Poetry Prize for her manuscript Thirty Octaves above Middle-C, selected by final judge, poet Robert Morgan. Ms. Youngs, a resident of Escanaba, Michigan, has an M.F.A. from Vermont College. She teaches in the English department at Northern Michigan Univeristy in Marquette. Her poems have appeared in numerous publications including Mid- American Review, Cream City Review, and Midwest Quarterly. She is the author of two prize-winning chapbooks before this one, and is a former editor of Passages NorthThirty Octaves above Middle-C is available from Wind Publications for $6.95 including postage. Order this book.

Beth Gylys Photo1996-97  Beth Gylys was awarded first place for Balloon Heart, selected by final judge Stephen Dunn. Ms. Gylys received the PhD in creative writing and literature from the Univeristy of Cincinnati where she was the Elliston Fellow in 1992-93. She has taught creative writing and composition, and worked as a free-lance writer and editor. Her work has appeared in numerous literary magazines including Phoughshares, The Paris Review, and Southern Poetry Review.   Balloon Heart is available from Wind Publications for $6.95 including postageOrder this book.

Other finalists were Andrea C. Holland (England, UK), Katie Kingston (Trinidad, CO), Jean Monahan (Cambridge, MA), Judith T. Obrien (Oklahoma City, OK), Ann Oomen (Interlochen, MI), and Ellen R. Young (Ardmore, PA).

This year's prize was awarded to Barbara Daniels for The Woman Who Tries to Believe.  Final Judge Sydney Lea said, "Barbara Daniels reminds us--at a time when such reminder is crucial--that the examined life, however idiosyncratic it may appear, still takes us closer to the old ideal of universalism than anything else. The Woman Who Tries to Believe sustains me in my own belief . . . in poetry.
-----Out of print-----

Dina Ben-Lev won the Quentin R. Howard Poetry Prize with Sober on a Small Plane.  Final Judge for this year was Gerald Stern.  Stuart Friebert said the following regarding her book: "All her poems exhibit an integrity and honesty that are stunning, and her finest takes us to places no one's been before, where she challenges herself and her readers in that hardest of subject areas: what humans have done to and for each other."
-----Out of print-----

The Quentin R. Howard Poetry Prize was presented to Lucinda Grey of Charlotte, North Carolina, for her manuscript Ribbon Around a Bomb. Final Judge for the competition, James Baker Hall, wrote the following:  

Ribbon around a Bomb reveals a compelling vision of the life of the Mexican painter Frida Kahlo in short intensely lyrical story poems, each free-standing, an astonishing accomplishment. Here is the final image of the first poem entitled "Seizure, Coyoacan, 1911."  When her father falls/down beside her in the street,/his body shaking, his dislocated/stare rolling back to see behind him,/she runs to catch his eyes/across the unstable ground. The collection is laced together with that electricity and clarity. These poems remind me of the great work of Ai, an act you can't follow without superior gifts.     
                   --James Baker Hall

The chapbook Ribbon Around a Bomb is out of print, but has been reprinted as a part of The Woman Who has Eaten the Moon.